2019-2020 Catalog

Intercollegiate Athletics

Rhode Island College sponsors 21 varsity sports through the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics. Seven team sports are offered in the fall, seven team sports during the winter and seven during the spring.

Men’s teams compete in baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, indoor track, outdoor track, soccer, tennis and wrestling. Women’s teams compete in basketball, cross country, golf, gymnastics, indoor track, lacrosse, outdoor track, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis and volleyball. Participation is open to qualified undergraduate degree candidates who are enrolled in a minimum of 12 credit hours of courses as well as other NCAA and institutional requirements.

The college’s intercollegiate athletic facility, The Murray Center, features practice and competition sites for basketball, gymnastics and volleyball. In addition, there are team and general locker rooms, a fully equipped training/rehabilitation room, an equipment area, a weighttraining facility, offices and classrooms, team meeting rooms and the Athletic Hall of Fame. Additional facilities include Pontarelli Field (baseball); the Bazar softball complex; competitive tennis courts; the Black Track complex, including a 4,000-seat outdoor competitive venue; a five-acre practice complex; and the Student-Athlete Success Center. For additional and the most up-to-date information on the intercollegiate athletic program, visit www.goanchormen.com.

Rhode Island College is a proud member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association, and the National Collegiate Gymnastics Association, and is a charter member of the Little East Conference, which sponsors conference championships in men’s baseball, basketball, cross country, soccer, tennis and track; and in women’s basketball, cross country, lacrosse, soccer, softball, tennis, track and volleyball. The Little East Conference includes Plymouth State University, University of Massachusetts (Dartmouth), University of Massachusetts (Boston), Eastern Connecticut State University, University of Southern Maine, Western Connecticut State University, Keene State College and Castleton University.